Start Your Defense Now

Defend Yourself Against Attempted Assault With a Deadly Weapon Charges with Spangler Law's Experienced Defense Attorneys

Contact Us Today for a Free Consultation about Your Attempted Assault with a Deadly Weapon Case

What is Attempted Assault with a Deadly Weapon?

Attempted assault with a deadly weapon is a serious offense in Texas. It is defined as intentionally, knowingly, or recklessly causing bodily injury to another person with a deadly weapon.

What is deadly weapon?

A deadly weapon is defined as a firearm or anything manifestly designed, made, or adapted for the purpose of inflicting death or serious bodily injury, or anything that in the manner of its use or intended use is capable of causing death or serious bodily injury.

Different Levels of the Offense

The penalties for attempted assault with a deadly weapon in Texas vary depending on the level of the offense.

  • Felony of the first degree
    • A mandatory minimum sentence of 5 years in prison.
    • A maximum sentence of 99 years or life in prison.
  • Felony of the second degree
    • A minimum sentence of 2 years in prison.
    • A maximum sentence of 20 years in prison.
  • Felony of the third degree
    • A minimum sentence of 2 years in prison.
    • A maximum sentence of 10 years in prison.

What are the Defenses to Attempted Assault with a Deadly Weapon?

There are a number of defenses that can be raised to a charge of attempted assault with a deadly weapon. Some of these defenses include:

  • Self-defense
    • If you used the deadly weapon in self-defense, you may be able to argue that you were justified in your actions.
  • Mistake of fact
    • If you mistakenly believed that you were in danger, you may be able to argue that you did not intend to commit an assault.

If you have been charged with attempted assault with a deadly weapon, it is important to speak with an attorney as soon as possible. An attorney can help you understand the charges against you and protect your rights.

  • Fine: up to a $4,000
  • Two years license suspension
  • Annual fines of up to $2,000 for three years to retain your driving license
  • Between 30 days and one year of jail time
  • Community service: between 80 and 200 hours
  • DWI intervention or education program
  • Possible ignition interlock device

Penalties for a Third and Subsequent DWI Offense:

  • Felony in the third degree
  • Fine of up to a $10,000
  • Jail term range between 2 and 10 years
  • License suspension of up to 2 years
  • An annual fine of up to $2,000 for three years to keep your license
  • Community service of around 160 and 600 hours
  • DWI intervention or education program
  • Possible ignition interlock device

Do I Need a Lawyer for a DWI in Texas?

Although it isn’t compulsory to have a law firm represent you, If you are arrested and charged with DWI in Dallas, TX, It is advisable to hire a criminal defense lawyer. A criminal defense attorney will investigate the prosecution’s case for inconsistencies to refute the allegations in DWI cases. Your DUI lawyer can also employ the following tactics in your defense, some of which have shown promise in similar circumstances:

  • Upon arrest, you did not exhibit any signs of intoxication
  • Faulty evidence was used to convict you
  • The evidence is inadequate to sustain a criminal prosecution
  • There was not enough cause to pull you over
  • Either the breathalyzer or blood test used was found to be inaccurate

Cost of Hiring a DWI Lawyer in Texas?

There is no doubt that a skilled attorney costs money, but it is nothing compared to the cost of a DUI. DWI lawyer costs vary greatly depending on your lawyer and the facts of your case. In addition to whether your case goes to trial or not, other complications will also have an effect on how much your attorney will charge you.

Contact our attorneys at Spangler Law to schedule a consultation for a more accurate fee estimate.

What to Do About Your Texas Driver’s License Suspension

To request a hearing on your driver’s license, you must do so within 15 days after the date of your arrest. You might lose your license and pay steep fines if you don’t ask for a hearing.

During this hearing, it is vital that you retain legal counsel to contest the suspension of your driver’s license. Having a DWI attorney present at this hearing will allow him to ask the arresting officer questions.

Choosing the Right DWI Lawyer Can Make A Huge Difference In Your Case Results

Due to the complexity and severity of DWI penalties, it is crucial that you consider the experience of your DWI attorney when choosing legal counsel. When arrested for DWI, a competent lawyer knows that it is preferable to either have the case dismissed or negotiate a plea to a lesser charge since a conviction for DWI cannot be reversed.

The outcome of your DWI case depends on whether a certified criminal law professional handles it.

Experienced Dallas DWI Lawyers

Choosing the right DWI lawyer is important since a conviction can result in lost driving privileges, mandatory minimum jail time, and the loss of future employment opportunities in certain fields, such as security.

When you retain the services of a Dallas DWI lawyer from Spangler Law, you can be confident we will do all we can to defend your rights in court and assist you throughout every step of the case.

When you need a trustworthy criminal defense attorney in Dallas, Texas, look no further than Spangler Law. Contact us for a free consultation.